QC APPROVED

Controlling the quality of life. That's what she said.

Apple rings for the holidays

For Thanksgiving, I was scavenger hunting for a snack to make for our family dinner. I wanted something unique that tasted good n’ of course was easy to make because I’m not a great cook/baker. After watching some talk show, I was introduced to Food Deconstructed. As the name suggests, the chef takes culinary classics n’ takes them apart to create new delicacies. Apparently this chef is from the San Francisco Bay Area, so I love this site even more.

I chose to make apple rings. The recipe makes a batch of apple rings n’ a batch of onion rings, but I instead I opted to make two batches of of apple rings. Technically I actually made more, since I used 7 apples due to all the excess batter. These rings taste amazing – if you like carnival food, you’ll love these. I had loads of fun making these with my sis while watching Thanksgiving football n’ yelling at the Texans for playing crappy defense. These taste like apple pie coated with funnel cake in the shape of onion rings, and the dipping sauce adds a churro taste. The unique look n’ deliciousness make this the perfect holiday treat. Did I mention, they are extremely easy to make? Consider making these for your Christmas festivities.

I hope y’all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I for one fully enjoyed the food n’ company of my family. There was a lot of yelling at the TV during Thanksgiving Night Football. As you can see from the two signs above, my family was divided on which team to root for. While the evening football game is most definitely QC DENIED, this lovely recipe is awesome sauce (no pun intended) n’ most definitely…

3 comments on “Apple rings for the holidays

  1. explodyfull
    November 24, 2012

    carnival food? hells yeah! the only problem is I am scared to death of hot oil…I always puts me off, one day I will buy one of those home deep fryer machines..

    • QC Ho
      November 24, 2012

      I was also turned away by the idea of hot oil scalding me, but if you’re careful n’ patient (work in small batches like the recipe suggests), it’s possible to escape without any burns. Even I, one of the clumsiest people, managed to. Happy cooking n’ happy holidays!

  2. amed115
    November 24, 2012

    Reblogged this on Cuisine Tunisienne.

Leave a Reply (approve/disapprove?)

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2012 by in QC Approved, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Follow me on:

Follow Me on Pinterest Follow Me on Tumblr Follow Me on Twitter Follow Me on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

Blog stats

  • 6,152 approval views

Cleveland at Denver

Browns at BroncosDecember 23rd, 2012
Are you ready for some football?!
© Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
