QC APPROVED

Controlling the quality of life. That's what she said.

Mixed Tape – ‘Tis the season for cold hands n’ warm hearts

If you have read my “About” page, you probably know that I’m a sucker for oldies music. With the rapid change in NorCal weather, it’s finally starting to feel like autumn with the brisk weather greeting me at every street corner. This change in the season reminds me of a couple songs from the 60’s –

I’m not sure when I first heard The Zombies’ “Time of the Season,” but there’s a good chance KQED introduced me to this wonderful tune. One of my personal favorites is The Byrds’ “Turn! Turn! Turn!” As a kid I heard their song “Mr Tambourine Man,” which I absolutely loved n’ found so soothing. I wasn’t introduced to this particular song until freshman year of high school in my religion class. It turns out that almost every line was taken verbatim from the Bible (King James Version, Book of Ecclesiastes). I typically don’t warm up to songs with heavy biblical reference, probably because the scripture is often not well integrated into the lyrics, but this song was simply perfect (albeit it was almost entirely composed of a scripture passage). I spent much of my four years at a Catholic high school attempting to decode n’ comprehend the Bible, often having to result to asking for the assistance of my friends familiar with scripture. However, seeing as I was mainly perplexed by these words, I never realized how poetic they could be. Accompanied by the usual calm, folk-y Byrds instrumentals, this song makes you pause n’ savor the moment. I leave you with the first line, my favorite line – “To every thing (turn, turn, turn) there is a season, (turn, turn, turn) and a time to every purpose under heaven.”

Leave a Reply (approve/disapprove?)

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by in Articles and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on:

Follow Me on Pinterest Follow Me on Tumblr Follow Me on Twitter Follow Me on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

Blog stats

  • 6,152 approval views

Cleveland at Denver

Browns at BroncosDecember 23rd, 2012
Are you ready for some football?!
© Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
