QC APPROVED

Controlling the quality of life. That's what she said.

Sky Bar’s the limit!

One day when listening to Downtown San Jose-based 94.5 KBAY on my way to school, the radio hosts were talking about their favorite candies growing. I love all things old-school 60s-70s, so this was right down my alley. After hearing them talk about how delicious the Seven Up candy bar was, I set out on a mission to track one down to consume it myself. However, after furiously googling for a good five minutes, I discovered that the bar was retired (sad Eli). However, I found that there was a similar candy, Necco’s Sky Bar, although it only has four flavors as opposed to Seven Up’s seven. After some visits to paradise with my lil sis to the ridiculous number of candy stores in Monterey, I finally found the candy bar. Boy did I devour it quickly. About the time I finished it, it became my favorite candy bar. Since then, I’ve managed to find the bar at candy stores closer to home, including the cute candy shop in Downtown Campbell. While I was enjoying Oktoberfest with my family last Sunday, we stopped by the shop n’ I picked up a pair of the scrumptious Sky Bar for $1.49 each. I don’t even remember all four flavors in the bar, n’ I don’t really care – it’s just good. This bar might not be for everyone, n’ to be honest it might appear “ordinary” to many. I don’t know though, maybe it’s the retro typography on the wrapping, but the bar has a certain charm, n’ I sure can taste it. This is definitely the best candy from Necco, considering many of their creations are so pasty you would think you’re eating paper (although sometimes the wrapping is so bad you are eating paper – candy buttons).

From my lengthy rant about candy, you can probably tell I love candy (n’ chocolate). I love scrumptious munchies whether they be oldies or foreign. I must say French candy is amazing like the Carambar, which is a little tougher to chew than Tootsie Rolls. Unfortunately it seems that the only flavor found in the US is the original caramel, which is actually my least favorite since the flavor’s almost as bad as the wrapper jokes – the fruity ones n’ the cola one are the best. I also love the Malabar gum. Anyhow, I shall stop writing because I’m drooling thinking about all this candy (sorry for the imagery).  As I set out on my quest to track down oldies candy (that haven’t expired, of course) n’ foreign gems, I shall continue to update this blog with my thoughts n’ findings.

One comment on “Sky Bar’s the limit!

  1. neccowafers
    October 17, 2012

    Love this post!! We’re so happy you love Sky Bar – thanks for being a great fan!! =)

Leave a Reply (approve/disapprove?)

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2012 by in Musings and tagged , .

Follow me on:

Follow Me on Pinterest Follow Me on Tumblr Follow Me on Twitter Follow Me on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

Blog stats

  • 6,152 approval views

Cleveland at Denver

Browns at BroncosDecember 23rd, 2012
Are you ready for some football?!
© Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
