QC APPROVED

Controlling the quality of life. That's what she said.

Raise the red lantern

Happy October to y’all! n’ happy Vietnamese Autumn Festival (although I’m a week late on that). Autumn somehow always seem like the perfect time of year to pull out those lanterns. Maybe it’s the flame flickering in the gentle breeze, or the lantern swaying in the light wind. Whatever it is, I had a itch to scratch when I stared at a bleach white paper lantern I had bought in Little Tokyo, Downtown LA. I am probably not one to lecture on the history of Vietnamese tradition, but what I do know is that during the Autumn Festival, children parade around holding beautiful lanterns. As a kid my mom would dress me up in a yellow traditional Vietnamese long dress, n’ I’d have in my hand a beautiful, yellow butterfly lantern. An actual candle was lit n’ placed in my lantern, and I spent the afternoon prancing around my backyard making my butterfly “fly.” I no longer have that lantern as I think I broke/ripped it storing it one year, but I do have the memories to hold dear to my heart. As a little tip of my hat to the good ol’ days, I created an invasion of red watercolor swirls on my lantern –

White paper lantern painted with red watercolor pencil. / QC APPROVED.

I have classified this post as a DIY because technically I will be telling you all the steps I took to decorate this lantern, but the steps are very few. Here they are:

1. Buy lantern (preferably white if you want to apply watercolor…other than black).
2. Think of a design.
3. Pull out watercolor pencils n’/or palette. Draw/paint.
4. Let dry.
5. Hang up n’ admire. No joke, those are all the steps I took. Not to toot my own horn, but I think this lantern looks rather charming for something that took so little time. It is definitely a time-efficient way to decorate empty space.

Unlike during my childhood, with all the tragic stories of wildfires around the state n’ country, and all the arson incidents in the Bay lately, I decided to opt for a safer method of lighting my lantern – LED tea light from the dollar store. Upon completing my lantern, I was reminded of a film I watched a couple years back at the suggestion of my mom – Raise the Red Lantern. It is a foreign film from China, I believe, and Gong Li is purely exquisite in  it. It is one of those films that can have such a deep impact on you, making tear up throughout without making you completely ball your eyes out. It is a true classic that everyone should have the pleasure of enjoying. Go Netflix it!

Leave a Reply (approve/disapprove?)

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2012 by in Crafts, DIYs, Ideas, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Follow me on:

Follow Me on Pinterest Follow Me on Tumblr Follow Me on Twitter Follow Me on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

Blog stats

  • 6,213 approval views

Cleveland at Denver

Browns at BroncosDecember 23rd, 2012
Are you ready for some football?!
© Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Qùynh-Chi and QC APPROVED with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
